Just lie and save yourself? emm not quite!

father-and-son

A good name is to be chosen rather than geat riches (Proverbs 22:1)

I can’t remember exactly when this happened probably sometime in my primary school and  I think I had been naughty or probably didn’t carry out an instruction I was given and knew if my dad found I would surely get some whooping lol… So I was so scared I told my mum and told her not to tell my dad or even lie and you all should note that not telling my dad was not really an option because he would find out sooner or later anyway. So my dad finally got home and my mum had to tell him and I seriously thought my mum would lie on my behalf to save me but she didn’t! instead she told him the full story and somehow ended up talking him into not being mad at me and I was so surprised because it worked.

What got to me was that she didn’t lie even though I stood a big chance of being painfully punished and I kept asking myself why she didn’t lie because it was way easier and as I remembered this story I began to think about how we tend to look for the easy way out especially in challenging circumstances and even if it’s not the right thing to do we do it anyway because “we will save ourselves some trouble” anyway I’m not here to tell you how to live your life but one thing I know is that from that day even though my mum didn’t say it, it stuck to my heart that being a person of character is key and I guess that’s why the bible emphasises so much on being a person of character because your gifts, talents and success can only go so far but a man of character will be honoured.

Leave a comment

