Accepting Grace

Accepteed

Let us come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace in time of need (Heb 4:16)

So I lied to someone sometime back just to make myself look good in front of the person mostly because I was not proud of the truth at the time. Then got convicted in my heart and asked God for forgiveness but for some reason, I didn’t want to accept the fact that I was forgiven (even though the person already knew the truth). I went that whole day not feeling good about myself, telling myself I deserved to be punished and can’t be forgiven just like that because I knew better than to lie (being a serious Christian) at the time.

Later in the evening that day, I went for a prayer meeting at church still feeling very bad and at some point we were told to let people know what God had laid in our hearts about them and I said God wouldn’t talk through someone like me and didn’t open up to hear him speak so was just sitting. Then someone came to me and whispered mercy! And I broke down right there knowing that could only be through God’s inspiration. He (God) had been trying to let me know all day, that it’s okay that I’m forgiven but I wouldn’t accept it.

However He helped me to understand that that’s where grace comes in. Letting me know that we are not saved by our works/good deeds but by the fact that God decides to show us unmerited love regardless of how good or bad we have been. Sometimes we set standards that we can’t really keep up with so as to feel that we deserve God’s love to us. Truth is we are not really able to reach that point where we are fully deserving of God’s graciousness and mercy because that’s life as we know it. So we might as well accept his grace, allowing it to guide us through each passing day because on our own, we cant really do much…

2 thoughts on “Accepting Grace

Leave a comment

