Why is it so hard to study the bible?

reading-the-bible

Your word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path

Well we all have given the excuse of the bible not being that much of an interesting book to read especially with the weird words such as ‘spake’ ‘Thou’ ‘Answereth’ etc;  good news is there are more simpler and modern versions out now so we can’t really get away with that excuse.

So what is it that makes people want to spend more time watching a movie or even reading other books aside from the one book that has been proven to meet your needs both physically and spiritually? Could it be that our approach towards studying the bible may be the problem?

You see when I decided to actually start reading my bible every day I found it more tedious than inspiring. Now you may ask was I a Christian?  Of course, did I Love the Lord? Most definitely. So why then was this a tedious task to me and then I found the answer, I was setting unreasonable goals (to me at the time) with the wrong mind set. Instead of focusing on studying in depth and understanding the scriptures little by little, I was all about just reading through the bible and possibly finishing it as a good Christian innit? When someone then asks me what I read at the end of the day, I don’t even remember half of it. In as much as God wants us to continue with and in his word daily, I believe he wants it to be an enjoyable experience.

In Isaiah 28:13 it says But the word of the Lord was unto them precept upon precept; line upon line, line upon line; here a little, and there a little; that they might go, and fall backward, and be broken, and snared, and taken.Take it slow and steady one or two verses a day especially with chapters that interests you as a person, could be story of David or Daniel or any chapter or verse in the bible, don’t be worried about staying in one chapter for weeks it’s OK and ultimately ask the Holy Spirit to help you, make it interesting by throwing more light on it and He definitely will. Remember His word never returns to him void and every word is a seed planted.

Leave a comment

