Doubting Thomas

doubt

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God not by works, so that no one can boast (Ephesians 2:8-9)

So there was this guy called Thomas, he was one of the followers of Jesus who has been widely talked about and criticised in many bible study discussions because of his lack of faith and him not trusting the fact that Jesus had died and rose again until he could prove it physically (John 20:24-29).

At some point, his story got me thinking and I began to tell God, that I didn’t see anything wrong in what Thomas did and as a matter of fact, if I’m being honest, I would do the exact same thing, because I mean you can’t tell me that someone I saw killed with my eyes is alive after three days without concrete proof.

Nevertheless, what got to me was the fact that when Jesus came to the disciples again and didn’t tell Thomas off or criticized him but instead He allowed him to see for himself that it was true after which he added that blessed are those who believe without seeing. The point is Jesus came down to Thomas’ level to reveal himself to him in order for Thomas to believe after which He told him the way forward with God (Believing without seeing).

I believe that’s how God gets through to us, when we are very open and honest with him acknowledging we are weak. Thomas didn’t pretend to have the faith the other disciples exhibited and so should we when in a similar situation. Sometimes when I’m trying to believe God for something and I am in so much doubt I tell him God I’m finding it hard to believe you will do this but I want to, so please help my unbelief. After all it’s by his Grace we believe in HIM; so let’s not fake it but instead be real with him because God’s strength is made perfect in our weaknesses (2 Corinthians 12:9) and with his help we will grow into his perfect will for us.

2 thoughts on “Doubting Thomas

Leave a comment

