I Worry…

Oh I worry,  I worry if I will make the right choices, if I will get the grades I want at Uni,  if I’m good enough for certain ambitions I have, and there was a time that I would worry way too much that when I choose not to worry about certain situations, it didn’t feel right.

Just last week, in one of my lectures at Uni, I learnt about how different factors aside from the normal biological factors have been linked to the development of cardiac pain. Guess what some of these factors are; anxiety, anger, educational level, social class, level of Job Skills, fear of job stability, social rapport etc. Well this got me thinking that God was not joking when he keeps hitting on the fact that we should be anxious for nothing and completely put our trust in him because not only do our spiritual lives get affected when we don’t, but our physical lives as well.

I can go on and on about scriptures I know that are linked to not worrying and just trust God. However the question is even after knowing all these scriptures do I still worry? emm yeah sometimes, but do I let it  affect and influence my life? Nope. Because I have come to an understanding that every day will have its own challenges but how I respond to it is what matters and even the bible acknowledges it (Matthew 6:25-34).

So whenever worrying thoughts come to my mind, instead of dwelling on it and sulking, I just tell God about it, choose to trust him with it and continue with my life… Need I say that sometimes I still tend to dwell on those thoughts even after telling God. Nevertheless, there’s always that reminder that brings this peace of knowing that regardless of what happens there’s nothing so bad that Jesus Christ cannot make the best out of. So why not let Jesus worry about that and stop stressing? After all He makes all things (good and bad) work together for my good and has made everything beautiful in its time.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

 

Leave a comment

