Who do you think you are?

Who am I? a question I used to ask when in doubt probably because of some things I have done, or what people have said about or to me. We may not all  admit to asking this question literally but we often do in different ways asking questions like am I beautiful, am I smart, am I good enough? etc.

We’ve all struggled or are struggling to really know what our identity is. I for one used to place my identity on my grades and when I don’t do as well as I want even though most times its nothing close to a fail, I cry as if the world is about to crumble on me. So my identity was based on my achievements among other things. While there are some others who build their identity based on their background, their past, their present, who their parents are, their friends, their ethnicity etc.

You see the bible tells us to guard our hearts with all diligence for out of it flows the issues of life (Proverbs 4:23) and also that as a man (or woman) thinks in his heart so is he (Proverbs 23:7). One thing I got from this verse is that you are what you believe, what you accept and what you hold dearly to. Everyday thoughts are continuously planted in our hearts through different experiences and it only takes one wrong thought to re-programme our minds. Even God plants thoughts in our hearts but He still gave us the power of free will to choose to think and dwell on whatever thoughts we want. So I’m saying, You are who you think you are.

What set me free from those wrong ideas about my identity was coming to understanding the power of consistency. The only thing or person I know to be consistent in this constantly changing world of ours is God, Jesus Christ. So I chose and still choose to believe and accept that I am who God says I am and I chose to place my security and Identity on that alone because ONLY God’s and his word never change…

Leave a comment

