Choose Your Thoughts!

So what am I going to do today, oh snap! I’ve got lots of revising to do, actually I need food, no I need to read my bible, Okay focus, ugh I hate it when someone keeps sniffling, work work work (uni work)!!! Ugh, I need to hit the gym soon though etc.

And I’m sure most of you would be thinking what this girl is on about? Well I just gave you all a glimpse of some of the thoughts that go through my head on a daily basis.

Like me everyone has random and sometimes willful thoughts go through our minds every day. Some of them good thoughts, some crazy thoughts, and some not so good thoughts; but the question is what we do with these thoughts that bombard our minds daily. Ever heard of the verse in proverbs that says – as a man thinks in his heart so is he? Well for me that simply spells out -you are what you think!

So if I define myself based on the thoughts I dwell on would I look good?

I used to often lead myself to believe that there are just some things you can’t control and one of them is the thoughts that come into your mind.
Well that was and is a lie! And as my church folks would say “a lie from the pit of hell”

You see as I grew in God, He helped me to understand that I have control over my mind and my thoughts. I have the power to choose what I think, taking me to the scripture that says I have the power in Christ to cast down imaginations and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of Christ, bringing every thought to captivity to the obedience of Christ.

When you think of it, bringing our thoughts to the obedience of Christ is us saying if it’s not in line with God’s word (Christ; John 1:1) then I don’t want to be thinking this. And yes there are persisting thoughts but you have to learn to counter it with speaking out God’s word to yourself. Remember faith comes by hearing.  So with time you begin to build faith in (believing) what you say and you eventually will (I did).

The bible even gives us a guide to the kind of thoughts we should allow in our minds ” And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. (Philippians 4:8 NLT)”

6 thoughts on “Choose Your Thoughts!

  1. Juliet Jon says:

    This idea has never come to my mind. controlling my thoughts is controlling my actions and my personality. Thank you!

Leave a comment

