Count your own blessings

I used to pride myself in the fact that I’m never that person that gets jealous over someone’s good fortune. If anything I’m usually quick to rejoice and celebrate with whomever it is that is celebrating.

So there’s this friend of mine and it happened to be that we were both believing God for the same thing. The thing ended up happening for her and it didn’t happen for me and all of a sudden I started questioning my standing with God.

As a matter of fact, I suddenly realised I’ve always tried to outdo her, comparing myself with her and I started beating myself up whenever I felt I was not as good.

So I prayed. I told God how I didn’t like the way I was feeling and if I keep going this way I will start resenting this dear friend of mine. Well you know what God told me?

He said I had started losing sight of who I was and who He is making me to be. I had stopped counting my blessings and had started counting other people’s blessings.

And I thought to myself that’s it, I’m distracting myself from counting my own blessings and it has helped me so far deal with the issue of jealousy.

You may think there’s really no ‘’blessing’’ in your life to count and It may be due to what you define to be a blessing. You know the cliché statement that it’s a blessing to be alive  well it is very true.

I didn’t appreciate being able to hear properly until I had an ear infection that had me partially deaf for a while. When I finally got better I appreciated being able to hear properly and acknowledged it as a blessing.

You’re alive for a reason, and don’t take it for granted. Remember where there’s life, there’s hope and the bible tells us that hope (on the love of God) makes us not ashamed (Romans 5:5). So let’s start counting our blessings and start trusting in his love for each and every one of us.

Love and Blessings…

Leave a comment

