You and me (poem)

For this entry ”Me” refers to all of us seeking hope in this lost world…

I wonder what I did that you love me so,

I search, I think, I analyse, I add, I subtract,

I hypothesize and try to work it out

Yet  my conclusions point to the fact that I still cannot fathom why you love me so.

Your love is so deep that I can literally feel its touch on my palpitating heart.

It is so overwhelming and that it’s beginning to get hot in here.

I don’t get this, and I’m not sure I ever will understand why He says to me

You’re forgiven yet again.

So I tried to get away from this love, and just be me

But the further I go, the more Romans 8:38-39 becomes a reality.

I tried to hide in my darkness,

cover myself with my shame and close my eyes to life

may be avoiding to actually live it.

Yet you run into my darkness

You wrap your arms around me with so much love

That I begin to wonder,

What is wrong with you? Why me?

Why do you decide to step into my darkness making yet another reality of 2 Corinthians 4:6.

You told me to wrap my arms back around you and receive the love

But I was too worried I’d smudge your white garment with my exuding darkness.

Neither did I know that the whiteness of your garment was contagious.

I caught it

It got infused with my blood and hybridized with my DNA

Making me realise that from the inception of time it was meant to be.

The love became the epigenetic factor that mutated my entire genome.

This mutation however made me a hybrid of your kind.

I no longer fit in this world;

I started understanding for myself the phrase,

I am in this world but not of this world.

I began to see for myself what you were showing me all along.

You became vulnerable for my sake because you really wanted to.

You told me I was worthy and showed it by being hurt and broken all for my sake.

You were shattered oh so shattered but you kept your eye on the price- Me

Yes Me; the unworthy price that even angels and demons didn’t seem to get it.

The demons thought they were getting rid of you and your plans,

Unknown to them they were helping You get Me and Me- You.

The Angels were ready in anticipation for your command

Hoping you will summon their intervention that night at Gethsemane

But you kept your eyes on the price-Me.

So Lord I come before you today because you came before me first.

I call you Lord, because your love has the authority

And power to transform my darkness into your light.

I’m still a flickering candle but me + You = Fire storm.

I’ve learnt to say I love you and truly understand it’s because you loved me first.

I trust you because you trusted in me enough to die for me.

I want to go on, but life calls

However you give me the comfort that with you is the life I live

And for that I thank you.

Leave a comment

