What’s going on in my life?

So a lot of life has been happening to me lately hence the very infrequent blog posts. For those who follow up the blog, I do apologise and I do have the desire to keep on writing more often but have not really found that balance yet with life, uni, work etc. Hopefully will get there.

So I was thinking, I know I do tend to write posts about different life situations that have gone on with me but never really let you all into real-time life experiences; so I decide to share just a few significant things that have gone on these past few months. It is my way of letting you all get to know me a little bit better and in the good old unmerited love fashion, share what I have learnt and how God has somehow used these experiences to help me grow in Him. (p.s this post is a bit longer than the usual so brace yourselves).

Turning 21

photo bday blogFirst of all I started this blog just over a year ago and I can’t believe it’s been a year already. I was twenty at the time and I turned the big 2-1 5 months ago. I know it’s not too recent but I’m still wrapping my head around acknowledging it. I have to think about it whenever I’m asked my age it’s crazy. What I would say though is that if there’s any difference I’ve observed is that I’ve started taking care of myself a tad bit more, learning the importance of living in and relishing every God given precious moments especially with loved ones or with meeting new people and learning about them. My thought pattern hasn’t changed that much frim when I was 20 to be honest, but I find that I do tend to pray more about applying my heart to wisdom.

I graduated from university

Now this was exciting! This happened in July (4 months ago). Although I remember around the period leading up to the day I graduated, I was not in the best head space; mostly because I chose to focus my thoughts on the wrong things which looking back now, my heart was very ungrateful. grad blog photoHowever I made a decision that day (by God’s grace) to silence every doubt and calm every roaring emotion, telling my restless heart to just breath, forget the worries and soak in every moment of that day because that was what mattered in that time and space. I knew I didn’t want to look back and regret not enjoying that day because I had every reason to. From graduating with a very good result, to graduating with some of my nearest and dearest, to having most of family in one place at the same time (which doesn’t happen very often these days lol ), to being blessed with a beautiful weather that day, to being healthy enough to even attend and so much more. I guess I learnt the importance of thankfulness and realising the more thankful I was, the less room I had for fear, worry and anxiety to thrive.

I moved cities

Yikes…so this happened about 5 weeks ago and I’ve only just gotten from the stage of thinking what the heck have I done to seeing how it’s all somehow been orchestrated and is starting to slowly make sense. I spent four years of my undergraduate life in the city of Liverpool being an international student and hence Liverpool was my home away from home. So moving to an entirely new city where I knew no one to me was a huge leap of faith. However with the way God had a spinner on things in my life this year, I’d say I’m not surprised. With time I would have an entire blog post dedicated to this experience but for now I’d leave you with this. God becomes that ever present help in your actual time of need.photo york blog Literally, what kept me going was being reminded of the fact that God never leaves nor forsakes his own. His presence is most felt in our most vulnerable states because He becomes our strength in times of weakness. I began to recognise that Christ is enough for me and wherever He is, is life and peace. I also learnt that it’s okay to wait and trust Him with my life, allowing him set things in motion at the right time; not trying to figure everything out all at once. I started realising the importance of making Christ my home and you know the saying home is where the heart is- well I decided to leave my heart with Christ enlivening the scripture – in him I live, I move and have my being.

Leave a comment

