Does having Faith mean denying Reality?

Holding-on; having faith blog

God blesses those who realise their need for Him

I have been a Christian for a substantial amount of time yet I’m still trying to grasp unto the idea of what Faith or having faith really means. Growing up in a Christian fold, I have been taught on different ways to exercise my faith, what having faith can do for me and what I can do with my Faith.

Despite my “faith saturated” environment I still managed to be a ‘semi-realist’. And although I consider myself quite an optimistic individual if there’s an actual problem at hand I very well acknowledge it and do not pretend it’s not there. Take for example- I know people who when they are ill and visibly so, and are asked how they were doing will respond with “I am well”. Some may go as far as to even add “in Jesus name” at the end of that statement- reason being they are confessing the faith they have that they will be fine. Now I’m not against any of that and the bible does tell us how powerful our tongues are and even further teaches us that by our words we are either acquitted or condemned.

Nonetheless I was never satisfied with the idea that having faith meant denying reality. So I talked to God and studied about it because I didn’t want to think I was missing out on something; and this is what I came to understand (by God’s grace).

According to Hebrews 11:1 (nkjv);” Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen”. I actually prefer the NLT version which lays it out as – “Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see”.

In order for one to have and exercise their faith, there is first a need to. God helped me to understand that pretending the problem is not there or refusing to acknowledge whatever our circumstances are is not what he is calling us to do. I may even go as far as saying accepting there is a problem is key; although need I point out that acceptance may not necessarily translate to being happy with the current situation. I was reminded of the verse Matthew 5:3 which says “God blesses those who are poor and realise their need for him for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven”. Another verse that caught my attention is “God’s strength is made perfect in our weakness”.

I learned that I needed to realise my need for God in order to actually exercise my faith in Him. In other words if I am in trouble I need to acknowledge and accept it and then go ahead to find a solution. We have a God who has so graciously made himself available to us as our helper, our guide, our protector etc. now this will not be necessary if we lived in utopia. God very well acknowledged that we live in a fallen world where wars, sickness, and death are the order of the day so we gave us access to his life giving grace through his son Jesus Christ.

So Faith does not necessarily mean we make light of reality; if anything, having Faith enables us the opportunity to truly cast our cares on Jesus because He truly does care for us  (especially by giving us the priviledge of Himself) .

Again like I earlier highlighted I’m still growing and learning about the concept of Faith so feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you have come to learn about Faith.

 

Love and Blessings…

5 thoughts on “Does having Faith mean denying Reality?

  1. VaSanganyado says:

    Have consider pitying faith against reality might be a false dichotomy? For example, truth is simply reality. Jesus called himself reality. Reality comes through the word. This might be a matter of semantics, but could be of spiritual consequence.

    Faith is being fully persuaded that God is able to do what He promised. The promise of God gives us hope, and faith is the substance or evidence of that hope. So, simply put faith is being convinced what God says is real.

    Reality is found in God’s promise. I do not deny my current circumstances, but I realize reality is in Christ’s words. Check this, when I am weak (the present situation) then I am strong (the reality). Paul found the reality in Christ’s promise, my grace is sufficient for you.

  2. authkg says:

    I loved this! I didn’t know I had the same battle in my mind until I read this. Does faith really mean to deny reality? Or to play pretend? I agree with my husband when he laughs at my determination to wake up on time in the morning. I just can’t do it. But at night I tell him, ” I am going to wake up at 630 and do this this and that” he laughs because in reality, based on my history, I don’t do it. But what I don’t like is when he voices what he “knows” is going to happen. “You won’t wake up, please!” I don’t want to hear that. Speak life to my struggle. Encourage me even though in reality, i might wake up late. I think if he declared victory in my struggle, I would wake up on time.

  3. Daniel Etie says:

    I really appreciate you sharing this.
    I have asked myself this same questioned a number of times and to be honest with you Faith, I agree with your post a 101%.

    The funny thing is many people who claim faith, like you gave in your example, don’t “really” believe they are fine. Many times, they’ve gotten so used to saying “I am well”. They don’t realize positive confession is no substitute for faith.

    In faith, I believe God for something, usually a change in the state of things (reality).
    but when that reality is denied, then what else am I believing God for???

Leave a comment

