Growth means making choices

climb-blogGrowing and gaining more and more responsibilities forces you to start prioritizing factors in your life. Making one remove and shorten time spent on the very things they consider as not important or less important in order to make room for those classed as the more trivial matters.

Sometimes it can feel like a trap because we get your identity from a lot of the things we give ourselves to. One can be mother, a wife, a counsellor, a student, a writer, head of a society etc. Yet at different points in our lives we are forced to choose between those characteristics that we consider to be true to our very nature and those that aren’t or those we don’t have the time to imbibe.

Well at some point in making those choices I started over- rationalising and in return my spiritual life suffered gravely. Not spending as much time in church gatherings and just doing as I please with my faith really. After all my faith is not centred upon how much religious practices I carry out but my heart for God. Which is well and true but little did I know that my actions just indicated where my heart was at.

And it was not as close to my maker as I would have liked it to be.

Jesus taught in the book of Matthew 6:21 that where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. The MSG version reiterated this message in a more current style stating that ‘the place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be and end up being’.

I mean when we think of it, we can have perfectly excusable reasons to not be as dedicated as we’d like in certain areas of our lives; but just like the MSG version stated, we’ll end up being where we most want to be. And this does not come by wishful thinking.

Growing up and maintaining your core values in an ever-changing world will require hard work and subjecting oneself to discipline. One thing however that has worked for me is occasionally reflecting honestly on where I am in life and what I’m about- checking if I’m being true to myself, If I’m genuinely happy with where I’m at, what I’m doing and ultimately if I’m growing and getting better or getting worse?

This is not to say that I do not acknowledge that life happens and hence sometimes I may not be my strongest or most dedicated.

But it is to ensure that weakness does not become a habit in a place where strength is supposed to thrive; and darkness does not overcome the light in our lives.

 

Love and Blessings…

 

 

One thought on “Growth means making choices

Leave a comment

